Crannagael House, owned and occupied by Jane and John Nicholson, is nestled in the heart of the County Armagh countryside and is approximately 3 miles from M1 junction 13 and 5 miles from Portadown on the B28, Moy – Portadown Road.
Nicholsons have lived at Crannagael House since 1760. Subsequent generations were involved in the linen industry and then in 1884 one Henry Joseph Nicholson, the current owner’s great grandfather, imported the first 60 Bramley Seedling trees to Armagh from Southwell in Nottinghamshire, and the rest as they say is history!
It is a grade 2 listed Georgian house and is still owned by the same family that built it in the mid 18th century. It is surrounded by gardens, parkland and mature woodland, and the accommodation overlooks an apple orchard – a delight when the blossom is out in May!
The self contained apartment on the East wing comprises three bedrooms, one king, one twin and one single. There is an upstairs bathroom and downstairs shower with wc (both with wonderful views of the orchard!). It has a fully fitted kitchen, dining area and lounge which gets the morning sun. The backdoor opens onto a patio and barbecue area, adjacent to an apple orchard. There is full oil fired central heating as well as a wood burning stove in the lounge.